Results of mole biopsy

As you might have read in my previous post, which you can find here , I had to get 3 moles removed by excision, as my dermatologist suspected that they were abnormal.

Just before I returned home after the operation, she said I could come in to remove the stitches after 2 weeks and we could then discuss the results of the biopsy about whether I had melanoma or not.

The results are back and I can happily say that there were no signs of melanoma, however there were signs of abnormalities in one of my moles and it’s good that it was removed, as in future it could have developed into melanoma. The biggest excision I had which was on my breast, was where there were 2 moles. One of them I had had since birth and it had just changed over the years as I got older and the 2nd one was a new smaller mole, that had appeared in the last year and had a very fuzzy edge. This smaller mole was the abnormal one.

The 3rd mole I had removed under my left armpit had 3 different colours in it and was also a newer mole.Although it looked suspicious on inspection, apparently it was just a harmless type of mole that resembles a suspicious mole.

I am extremely relieved and now that my stitches are removed I can finally go back to normal. I need to give the big excision another couple of weeks to heal before I can go swimming again but all in all this nerve-racking experience is finally over!

I have arranged to have a full body mole scan in October. I am in the high risk category due to the many moles I have, especially the high number of dysplastic nevi, which basically means moles that are atypical and look like they might be melanoma.

I am very grateful that I am melanoma free and will continue to keep a close eye on my health.

Love Athina ♥

10 thoughts on “Results of mole biopsy

  1. Glad to hear your results came back negative. I had a full body scan yesterday & two moles were removed, one on my face. Need 5 more to be taken off. Waiting for results is nerve wrecking. Wondering how your wound healed? Any tips for less scaring?

    Like

    • Hi there, thanks for sharing! Sorry to hear you’re also waiting for results! Fingers crossed it is all ok. I just try and keep my scar moisturised..unfortunately mine is rather large so I am not loving it..but I really try not to focus on it, as being healthy is more important. I hope your face wound isn’t too uncomfortable. Hugs and good luck!x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment