Hello Anxiety my worried friend..

url

I am nearly ready for my trip to London and an unexpected wave of anxiety just hit me, making my hands clammy, my head feel lightheaded and my breathing shallow, as you would naturally expect.

Usually the first thought when anxiety hits us is ‘Oh no!!’, it’s back again…

I won’t lie to you..It’s never fun at the beginning but I know better than to let it overcome me…I know myself..I know my triggers..Travelling (especially flying), leaving my comfort zone (home) and the fact that I will be meeting my mother tomorrow, for the first time since December..Things are generally easier with her, as I no longer miss her or need her..I grieved my losses..I just think of her as visiting a needy, overly-dramatic friend..I know how to set boundaries..I have always managed our conversations over the phone, mostly with ease..Face to face is different however..She is observing me, my sensitivities, my reactions etc..as she always did…seeing whether I will be affected by her manipulations..her drama..We are luckily only meeting for a couple of hours for lunch, after I have seen my brother..He will be escaping the minute she arrives.. 🙂 Good for him!

When we meet, she will be bringing one of our much loved paintings with her, which I am really looking forward to. Hubby and I bought it when we lived in Cornwall before we moved away..We ended up leaving it with her before moving to Germany, as we didn’t want it to get damaged. Now I will have to figure out a way to bring it home!

 

In general I know how to manage my anxiety..breathe and accept it..don’t fight it..So I talk to it..Like it is a worried friend..I say ‘Hey Anxiety, I see you are back..that’s ok..it makes sense you are here..but we will deal with this together..’

I also know that any bilateral stimulation also helps..Walking, typing whilst I write this blog post..and tapping..

My flight isn’t boarding until 19:15 and I have to get a tram, then bus to the airport..Once I manage the first part of the journey, I will definetely feel more relaxed. I always do.

Then it’s just waiting around..

I am looking forward to seeing my cousin who is in her early twenties and seeing her family’s flat in London, with a beautiful view of the Thames..It’s been so many years!

Since the topic of this post is about anxiety, how do you cope with it?

Do you have soothing skills in place? Do you observe your thinking and try to think more positively? Do you have things with you that comfort you?For me, I always have a bottle of water(for my dry mouth), my mp3 player (to block out noise) and chewing gum.

Lots of love Athina ♥♥

© All blog posts and images are owned by me and Courage Coaching. Please don’t use without consent and only re-blog if you would like to use the information on here.

 

5 thoughts on “Hello Anxiety my worried friend..

  1. Hi Athina. Just to let you know that my blog has moved to a self-hosted platform and you will probably notice that you haven’t been receiving them. I still want to connect with you and hope you can join my feed called The ATG Press. The ATG Press will feature my latest blogs, news, competitions and giveaways all in one email per day. I am also planning on starting Blogger Meetups online to help Bloggers with ideas, strategies and to connect Bloggers with each other as well as feature bloggers like yourself in my communication with my readers so that people can hear your story and follow your blog. Do you mind if I can add you to my mailing list so that you can receive all this information? I send out only one email per day and would love to have you be a part of it. Please send me your email address in this comment or to info@healthyliving894.com and I will add you to the mailing list.

    Love,
    Greta

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope everything went okay for you. I wish I had ways to cope with my anxiety. It still overtakes me when it comes around and send me down that spiral to panic, fear, depression. I hope someday I can learn how to deal with this better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a difficult 2 first days here in London due to the heat at the moment. Hot weather makes my anxiety worse! Luckily I have a better handle of it today. It is a very tough thing to deal with. 💖

      Like

  3. Unfortunately, I do not do well with anxiety. In an effort to make sure I make all my connections to San Antonio, TX USA, I made mistakes (twice) with the reservations. The first time, I had myself staying a day longer than I was supposed to, and I changed my return flight to a day earlier (costing me an extra $200 for the change). Then, when I finally got my schedule info for the three-day event, I learned that my return date had been correct the first time, and I had to change both my departure and return flights to the correct days (another $200 for the change). Now, I have to make the arrangements to get me and my big power wheelchair to and from the airport in Chicago. This has not yet been arranged . . . so the anxiety is running in high gear. How do I deal with my anxiety? I blunder through my plans, making all kinds of (costly, in this case) mistakes, and let the acid eat away at my stomach, even though I take two medications for my stomach. Hmm, I wonder how I could deal with things, resulting in less anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

