Progress in healing. Don’t allow your abusers to steal your inner light!

FontCandy (74)

Hi everyone,

I am back from my holiday in Greece which was extremely hot and I must admit a lot of the time was spent indoors trying to keep cool during the day. My pale skin was always protected with factor 50 sun lotion when we were out and I only went to the beach once. I am not very Greek at all in regards to sun bathing anymore, as I am very conscious of the possibility of skin cancer, after having been burnt a lot as a teenager. I was also ill with a cold and achey body for the first 4 days of my holiday, so was a little grumpy!

Apart from that, it was lovely to see my husband’s family as always, as they are always so welcoming and generous. I managed to see a couple of friends too, but due to the fact that we didn’t have a car, we missed out on a lot of things we could have done. We always used to borrow my father’s business van when we would visit but now that we are estranged, this isn’t a possibility anymore.

The first 2 days we were there, I was thinking a lot about my father, especially due to the recent phonecalls he made to me but just as I have in the last year, I stayed strong and didn’t make any contact.

On the last day of our trip, I was also a little emotional thinking about him as I knew that it would be at least a year until we would next visit Greece. There is always the possibility of him dying and since I haven’t experienced death in close family yet, I don’t know how to feel about it. A lot of the time, I know that my parents’ death would bring me relief on some level, due to the drama and abuse I have endured most of my life. On the other hand, there is still unconditional love there and there would definetely be a certain amount of grief. The fact that I already feel like an orphan however means that whatever happens, I know that I will be ok.

I am shining my inner light & love, as I continue on this journey of life and no matter how many moments of darkness sometimes creep in, I have faith and acceptance in what will come in the future.

I also know that there are so many of you survivors out there, who are also shining your own light & love, by sharing your story and healing those wounds. You are connecting with so many other survivors of abuse and there is a huge support network of people who are cheering each other on!

Much love Athina ♥

6 thoughts on “Progress in healing. Don’t allow your abusers to steal your inner light!

  1. I also am a survivor, and my blog tells my story. Sometimes it’s pretty intense, and I say things I never knew were coming. Both of my immediately family abusers have died, but their legacy still lives on in the darkest corners of my mind. You can read it at outloudkaren.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a narcissistic mother who is still living (as far as I know). She emotionally abused me most of my life, especially in childhood and after years (55 yrs) of constant abuse I went NO CONTACT. This was the best decision I ever made. I also cut contact with my brother (golden child). I can breathe and haven’t been criticized about my weight or appearance in over 2 years! Narcissists will never change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

