Real Friends

Great post from Hummingbird redemption!It resonates so much with my current state of mind after my father attempted contact again…I am holding strong with not replying but there is always an ache in my heart..

Raphaela Angelou

943927_1190655660968354_5947711590754284092_n

I love the above. For too long I tried to be everything to everyone. I tried to fit into spaces not meant for me. I lost my voice and my boundaries. My life was a free-for-all. I was exhausted. When the drainers were done, there was nothing left. I watched as they flitted from energy source to energy source, surviving quite nicely without me. The fact was, I wasn’t helping them anymore than they were capable of loving me. I have come to learn what love is by uncovering what it isn’t. 420866_339739942726524_237387945_n

Friendship should feel good; you ought to feel assured of your place in their world. I have come to understand that it isn’t based on what you are able to do for that person,  but rather who you are. Can you imagine being surrounded by friends who affirm that if you have nothing but yourself to give, that…

View original post 277 more words

2 thoughts on “Real Friends

Leave a Reply

