Letting go..

 

A very important thing in life to remember is that it’s always easier to change yourself than it is to wait & hope for someone else to change..

You have control over your life, your choices, your happiness and if there is something or someone in your life that is making it harder, toxic or is just simply bad for you, then it is up to you to ‘let go’. Letting go is sometimes a challenge but I can guarantee that 9o% of the time it is worth it. Our gut instinct knows when something or someone isn’t right.

Listen to that instinct..

FontCandy (30)

 

12 thoughts on “Letting go..

  1. There’s an excellent book, “The Gift of Fear”, by Gavin de Becker; it mainly concerns learning to trust your first instinct to avoid violent or traumatic situations. If you haven’t read it, I’d recommend it; it’s a bit strident, and focuses more on physical safety, but I used it to great effect in teaching rape prevention seminars for university students. Just a suggestion; thanks again for another lovely post.

    Like

    • I will defintely look into it..Sounds very interesting and useful! It’s great to know you taught something so important to University students. I find teachers and people that can do seminars very brave and you are obviously one of them.Thanks for sharing and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I continually remind myself that the only thing I am in control of is me! I can change me, I can never change others. When the common denominator is me, then it is time to remove/change the numerator.

    Like

  3. Letting go is something we all should do, did or might do at a certain point of our lives… No matter if It is a partner or a friend.. And even a relative… I have been reading Many of your posts earlier today and I wanted to thank you… I think I have been trapped in a narcissistic relationship for a long time now… I stepped back… But I am still full of doubts and questions … Even if I won’t be having replies whatsoever from that person, at least It is a relief to find out tentative explanations.
    Sending love and best wishes. Aquileana 🌻

    Like

    • Absolutely!Letting go is important in every aspect. It is to practice self-care. I am very sorry to hear that you are trapped in such a relationship. I am glad my posts might have helped you. Knowledge is power and everything made sense to me when I first read about narcissism. All my past relationships and reasons why I was in them, finally made sense. Sending you love and courage ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Yes, letting go of my parents was THE most difficult thing I’ve EVER had to do, but it was a must in order to stop the cycle of abuse for my children therefore I will NEVER regret making that decision. It is extremely difficult to get past wishing I didn’t have to make a decision like that, or past the hope of having my parents behave properly and respectfully towards their grandchildren, but I keep reminding myself I don’t have control over the actions of others. I only have control over what I choose to do or not, and it is extremely important to me to allow my children to have a childhood free from fear, control and intimidation. I want my children to grow up feeling empowered to make their own decisions, respected for what their choices are, and above all, loved unconditionally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I applaud you for doing the best for your children, despite the difficulty of leaving your parents behind. I would do the same if I have children one day. It is extremely painful and difficult! I am on no contact with my father now and it will be a year in July! I am still grieving! Much love to you and your children xx

      Like

      • Yes, I can relate – it’s been 2 1/2 years since I went no contact with my Dad (& Mom), and I am just now starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel of grieving. It’s a long process, but worth it. Thanks for your reply and love to you too. Hang in there as it does get easier with time.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am at the very beginning of healing, and i’m afraid. I logically know my relationship with my abusive parent is harmful to me, I cant shake the fear that I maybe doing the wrong thing by severing our relationship, its been 3 months since we have spoken. I have no desire to visit or speak but I still feel guilty.

    Like

    • Guilt is very much a part of the healing process. I have felt it too. It comes from society saying that you should ‘always stick with family’ no matter what and also it comes from the abusive parent who makes you feel guilty for ‘leaving them’. Hold on tight! I know its tough, but with time it will get easier. Your health comes first! Hugs ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

