Ted-Ed – How stress affects the brain

Through psychotherapy and learning more about the effect of chronic stress on me personally, I am always on the look out for interesting articles or videos which can help explain things better to people that are also affected by chronic stress or complex trauma.

These are a list of things I have struggled with due to the nature of my child abuse/narcissistic abuse and ongoing complex trauma. Stress has most definetely affected my brain and body.

  1. Concentration
  2. Short term memory
  3. Trouble learning
  4. Excessive tiredness
  5. Flashbacks
  6. Heightened arousal
  7. Heightened fear
  8. Headaches
  9. Insomnia
  10. Anxiety
  11. Panic attacks etc

The below video is a great explanation of how stress affects our brain:

https://www.youtube.com/embed/WuyPuH9ojCE“>

5 thoughts on “Ted-Ed – How stress affects the brain

  1. I can totally relate to your list of symptoms! I also suffer from PTSD and I get so frustrated with my brain being effected. The worst for me is my loss of short term memory and lack of concentration. I used to read a lot of books but now I can hardly concentrate for long enough to read one paragraph. Thank you for bringing awakened to how stress effects the brain!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for taking the time to share your own experience of ptsd! It really does affect us and I am only realising how much, as I am also finding it hard reading theory books and have put off my MA until all my trauma therapy is complete. I am hoping my brain will get better at keeping in information!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

