Glossophobia – Fear of public speaking

I am one of those people who hates any attention..I always tried to fade in the background in the classroom at school, found it hard to participate in conversations whilst at university and when I had to do a presentation, I was shaky, I mumbled and tried to get through it as quickly as possible..

This isn’t something I am happy about at all. I definitely want to change it. The biggest reason I want to change my ‘glossophobia’ is that I want to help people and make this a profession. I want to do training as a life coach and eventually add art therapy to my studies as well. These professions can involve public speaking and feeling confident enough to do so is crucial.

If you generally have an understanding of generalised anxiety & low self esteem, then it isn’t that difficult to figure out that the fear of public speaking can be a lot worse if you are already overwhelmed with self-doubt and stress.

What Causes Fear of Public Speaking?

Fear of public speaking – also known as Glossophobia – has its roots in social phobia. It comes from the fear of being judged, which stems from all of the attention that people place on you when you’re speaking. Ideally, you need to be able to deliver a loud, effective speech. Yet doubts over our own ability combined with the knowledge that others are forced to pay attention to the words we share can create a feeling of fear that is tough to shake.

Some people get public speaking anxiety just by talking in front of their friends when their friends are in large groups. This is also part of social anxiety.

Are you uncomfortable talking in large groups or whilst doing presentations?

Some people say that they don’t mind talking in front of people, as long as they know a lot about the subject of conversation.

2 thoughts on “Glossophobia – Fear of public speaking

  1. I think this subject is an easy one for most people to relate to in one way or another. Public speaking is very high on the list of ‘most common fears’, but it can be overcome, and the feeling of doing so is tremendous, particularly for someone with self-esteem issues. Oddly enough, it is easier for some to speak in front of a crowd of strangers than it is amongst a large group of one’s friends. It all depends on the individual, I suppose. Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

