There are over 100 anxiety symptoms..

What is anxiety disorder?

Everyone experiences anxiety from time to time. This is normal. Anxiety turns into a ‘disorder’ – disruption to normal functioning – when anxiety and its sensations and symptoms interfere with a normal lifestyle.

Anxiety activates the stress response, which stresses the body. A body that becomes overly stressed can exhibit symptoms of stress.

FontCandy (55)

Over the years I have suffered from many different anxiety symptoms which are mostly a consequence of my dysfunctional upbringing. At the onset of my first ever anxiety attack, it took me a very long time to ‘accept’ that stress can cause so many awful physical sensations in the body. Every time I had dizziness, heart palpitations, nausea etc I thought I was experiencing something much worse such as a heart attack, or flu virus or even stroke.

It took me awhile to come to terms with my generalised anxiety and complex post traumatic stress. I had Cognitive Behavioural Therapy which was very helpful but due to the severity of my child abuse, I have also needed much more talk therapy and trauma therapy. Most people with anxiety usually improve with CBT alone. Other people also need antidepressants long term or a short dose of tranquilisers.

In this post I wanted to list all symptoms of anxiety which can affect men and women. Not everyone has the same symptoms, as each body is unique but most people experience some of these. Women and men also experience anxiety differently.Since stress hormones affect other hormones, women can experience a wide range of symptoms due to how stress hormones affect the hormones that affect the female menstruation cycle. Many women experience increases in anxiety related symptoms in association with their monthly cycle or due to changes in the body when pregnant, after pregnancy or during menopause.

The below link is from the anxietycentre.com website which I have found very useful in moments of extreme anxiety. I have experienced many ‘unfamiliar anxiety symptoms’ such as a metallic taste in my mouth, numbing in my legs, extreme sensitivity to light, frequent urination, stabbing pain in different parts of my body etc . The below link lists all of the symptoms and if you click on them, it explains them extremely well.

I hope you find these helpful if you suffer from anxiety often.

http://www.anxietycentre.com/anxiety-symptoms.shtml#symptomslist

 

4 thoughts on “There are over 100 anxiety symptoms..

  1. Absolutely! I was the same 10 years ago when I had my first panic attack..It really helped having someone explain it to me and give me information on anxiety. It’s such a difficult thing to have to cope with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

