Let go..

SuperBanner_Creation_2015-11-01_102120Dear readers,

Sorry I have been away for awhile. I have been enjoying my last week in New York and tomorrow is the big ‘return home’ flight. We fly at 8:30pm in the evening US time and will arrive 3am. Its only 6,5 hours luckily compared to the 8 hours we did coming here 6 weeks ago. Apparently jet lag is worse when flying from West to East, but at least we will be in the comfort of our home, our cosy bed and all our new memories. There is no place like home, and both my husband and I were ready to head home a week ago I think. I have been ok, just been missing having a comfortable chair to sit on and a firm mattress.Our home has everything we need. Some people don’t have that luxury. The flat we stayed in here in NY didn’t have a sofa or armchair so 6 weeks without one was actually a challenge. On the flip side however, I feel ridiculously weird saying that when unlike the hundreds of homeless people I’ve encountered every day in the city, I am blessed enough to have a roof over my head.

I must say that the saddest thing for me in this NY experience, was exactly that. The homelessness. I gave money to a couple of people and tomorrow we will be donating a coat, some shoes and a couple of t-shirts to whoever is homeless and might need them. We bought a few new things, so it only seems fair to donate those items that we no longer need, to those that would really appreciate it.

Anyhow, I am keeping my fingers crossed for my big flight home tomorrow! I will hopefully be able to get some sleep with minimal anxiety.Have a great evening everyone (or day to those of you on the other side of the globe). 😉

x

5 thoughts on “Let go..

  1. I hope you made the right decision 🙂 for me it’s a sight I see everyday. These so called homeless people make a living standing on the streets begging for money. I’ve recognized them for they stand in the same spot for as long as I’ve been at my daily route to work. Across the street is the homeless shelter where they stay till 6am. So I know they do have a place to stay just that I wish they could choose a different option but they choice not to..

    Like

    • Thanks. I can imagine that not everyone’s reason for living that way is understandable..I don’t know who has homeless shelters here in the city or not..Most are severely ill (schizophrenic/psychotic) and have been rejected by society..its just a shame..The system failed them..I also know of homeless people who have money and the possibility of a home, but would rather live on the streets…its still saddens me whatever the reason..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

