My big flight is finally here..

IMG_7316 dachshund_wirehaired 1

Dear friends,

As some of you may know, I suffer from CPTSD and don’t like flying,amongst many other things..For the last couple of weeks I have been doing EMDR with my therapist to make my flight a little more ‘normal’ by replacing the fear of being in a plane, with the feelings of calmness, happiness & comfort the dog in the photo brings me.

It is now 10 pm european time and I have to wake up at 3am ready for a taxi to take my husband and I to the train station at 4am and then eventually to the airport in Frankfurt. I have already slept from 19:30 until 21:00 but now I am awake!My husband has just fallen asleep however. When we eventually arrive at the airport at 5:30am, we have to wait until our flight leaves at 8:30am. I think I am actually more nervous about the waiting around when I am half asleep, in case I have a panic attack. Once I am on the plane, I can hide behind my sleep mask hopefully!

I have flown on small European domestic planes all my life, but tomorrow is my first transatlantic flight to New York which will take 8 hours..8 hours seems like such a long time, especially cos my longest flight has been 3:30 hours only! I get claustrophobic, I think too much and worry about every sound, bump etc..I never used to be this bad…I never even used to think about flying in a negative way…Especially since its the safest form of transport and I am most likely to get in a car accident than a plane accident, (and funnily enough I have been in a car accident)!

I am looking forward to being on the biggest plane ever however, an airbus A380 with Singapore airlines.I will do my best to think positive and at least I have my husband for support….I just wish I didn’t suffer from Cptsd because that is what makes everything so much harder..

Wish me luck friends for a smooth and relaxed flight ๐Ÿ™‚ When I arrive in New York I will be extremely proud of myself, as I was never able to imagine flying to the US and now I am doing it!

I will try and sleep a little more now I think..

My next post will be when I have arrived!

Take care x

9 thoughts on “My big flight is finally here..

Leave a Reply

