Complex trauma and one of my biggest comforts..Having a pet..

kittie window child within

When I was really struggling back in 2008 with my first breakdown, caused by the end of an abusive relationship and extreme triggering of past abandonment, my cat was the one thing that comforted me and kept me going. I had a very good counsellor luckily and was put on anti-depressants for the first time. I was having two sessions a week to get me through the suicidal feelings and complete loss of faith in every human out there.

Having my cat to cuddle up with in those long weeks in bed, where even the simplest things were a struggle, was a huge comfort. All she wanted was her food and some play time and the rest of the day she would cuddle up with me in front of the telly or at the end of my bed. It was lovely as she couldn’t hurt me or betray me. She was a very cute fluffly friend, who needed me just as I needed her.

I no longer have my lovely fluffy friend, as we had to part ways after moving countries and home too many times, but I miss her dearly and hope to be reunited with a new fluffy friend soon. This time it will hopefully be a wire-haired dachshund, once we have settled back in the UK for 4 years 🙂

4290_album

❤

4 thoughts on “Complex trauma and one of my biggest comforts..Having a pet..

  1. awwwww… I have 2 boxers and they are wonderful therapy, especially my boy boxer. I used to have a dapple dachshund and I called him my security blanket. He always slept in the small of my back. Even though he was so small he made me feel safe. I miss him so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You always miss a pet when they are gone! It was so hard for me to part with my cat too 😦 I was always a cat person, as grew up adopting lots of stray cats in Greece but after having played with a few dogs over the last few years, I have fallen in love with the wire haired dachshund 🙂 Boxers are lovely, good natured dogs too 🙂 My cousin has one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

