Wimpy health phobias..

bh

                                                                                                      

Sometimes I get paranoid that I’m going to get breast cancer..Due to all the anxiety & tension in my chest and upper body, I worry that this will mutate the cells in my breast tissue and make me really ill. I know that the higher the number of ACES (adverse childhood experiences) a person has, the higher the risk of physical illness too. I am very good at worrying and can get myself quite worked up sometimes when I have aches and pains.

Two years ago, I had a very sore swollen left breast and it scared the shit out of me! I was put on antibiotics (penicillin), which I ended being allergic to,  and eventually got an ultrasound done to check my breasts. They found some fibroadenomas but I was told not to worry. A few months later, I decided to get a 2nd ultrasound done and the doctors suggested I get a fine needle core biopsy done on my left breast to check the biggest lump. This procedure is done under local anesthetic, and the doctor inserts a rather large ‘hollow’ needle into your boob and a small amount of tissue is collected from the fibroadenoma to make sure it is healthy. I was so anxious about the whole thing and I must admit I am quite a wimp when it comes to hospitals and operations. Luckily my husband came with me and watched the whole thing, while talking to me calmly. I had to get 3 or 4 injections of anesthetic done, as I just wasn’t getting numb. The doctor found it a little hard getting the biopsy needle through my ‘young skin’ as she put it. Once she got in however, it was over quite quickly. There was a clicking sound at the end which is when the sample tissue is collected and then the little puncture wound was bandaged up and I was sent home.

I am one of those people that feels faint and anxious when I see an open wound on my body with blood. I don’t mind blood in general, as I’ve cut myself many times over the years, but I just get queasy to the thought of what is done to me and get paranoid the wound will get infected afterwards. I discovered this side to myself when I sat on the edge of the bed and took the bandage off my puncture wound. The minute I tried to start cleaning the residual blood from the puncture hole, I started getting very dizzy and had to lie down. My husband found it quite funny that I felt so faint, as I have 3 rather big tattoos which took 2,5 to 3 hours each and I dealt with those much more calmly.

Do you have any wimpy moments in regards to operations, pain or health phobias?

4 thoughts on “Wimpy health phobias..

Leave a Reply

