Trauma is dangerous..

Print  Photo sourced from openhearttherapy.com
People affected by trauma and especially Complex trauma have a lot of difficulties and are more prone to developing some unhelpful coping mechanisms, such as alcoholism, drug abuse & unsafe sex. When I was a teenager struggling from depression and neglect, I smoked weed as a way of numbing myself from the emotional pain. Luckily it only lasted a few months. Now at 33 years old I take antidepressants for my depression and complex trauma & still don’t have a proper stable career. I have low self esteem and terrified of criticism due to the fact my narcissistic parents constantly criticized me as a child. I was parentified, abused and abandoned many times.What have you struggled with? I know how hard it can be! ♥♥

Share your story. It really helps me, so I’m sure it will help you too. ♥♥

6 thoughts on “Trauma is dangerous..

  1. There’s a lot of things I struggled with which I can’t openly share on my blog because my mom and her friends read it. I don’t want to disrespect her because I do love her, but there were so many things that were unacceptable growing up. I share some of the experiences you wrote. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry to hear you share some of my experiences. We seem to have a few things in common.The reason my blog & facebook page is called ‘Child Within’ is
      because my mum is a ‘Life & Mindfulness Coach’ and I’m too uncomfortable going public with my real name, as she would have a meltdown. She has worked very hard building her ‘public & business profile’ even though she isn’t very popular for the right reasons. A few people know she is a narcissist (At least the people training her & she isn’t very successful doing what she does, as she lacks empathy.Maybe you could also set up an ‘anonymous blog’ to really express yourself in a way that is ‘safe’. Otherwise, I might send you a ‘friend request’ from my private ‘facebook account’ and we can talk there if you ever feel like it! I love your writing and view on life! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, sorry to hear about your mom. I was given a book called “Children of the Self-Absorbed: A Grown-Up’s Guide to Getting Over Narcissistic Parents” that is really interesting. It’s by Nina W. Brown.
        In fact, I really need to have a look at it again. Good tip about the blog, I thought about it before but put the idea on hold. Need to think about it some more.

        Liked by 2 people

        • I have heard that it is a very good book but haven’t read it yet.:-) I bought another one instead ‘Will I ever be good enough- Healing the daughters of narcissistic mothers’ which helped me over the christmas period when I was grieving my mother’s inability to be supportive. I might buy this book anyway. Self-help books like this are taking up a big shelf in my bedroom and have helped me immensely. x

          Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

